Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Cutting - Backing for Britain to Join Common Market (1969)

3rd July 1969
Click to Read

On March 25, 1957, France, West Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxembourg sign a treaty in Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC), better known as the Common Market. At first Britain decided not to join the Common Market and established the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) in 1960 as an alternative. 
By the early 1960s, however, the Common Market nations showed signs of significant economic growth, and Britain changed its mind. Because of its close ties to the United States, however, French President Charles de Gaulle twice vetoed British admission; consequently Britain did not join until January 1973.

No comments:

Post a Comment